Our network

SNWA Seeks Entries for Water-Efficient Landscape Contest | Environment

Title (Max 100 Characters)

SNWA Seeks Entries for Water-Efficient Landscape Contest
SNWA Seeks Entries for Water-Efficient Landscape Contest

If you have a water-efficient landscape in your yard or you’re a professional who has worked on one, the Southern Nevada Water Authority has a contest for you.

Local residents and landscape professionals interested in showing off their water-efficient landscapes are encouraged to enter the SNWA's 13th Annual Landscape Awards competition.

Applications for this free community contest, along with award criteria, categories and other information are available at snwa.com through Thursday, May 12. Applications also are available by calling the Conservation Helpline at 258-SAVE (7283).

The SNWA's Landscape Awards honor residential and professional water-efficient landscapes that are both attractive and functional. Entrants must have a working irrigation system appropriate to their design. Properly irrigated water-efficient landscapes, even those with a high volume of water-efficient plant life, can use up to 75 percent less water than traditional grass lawns.

In addition to the SNWA's awards, program partners also honor contestants through specialized awards. This year, the Star Nursery Color Award will recognize one professional and one homeowner who display the best layout, variety of plants, theme and overall colorfulness. Those professional contestants who demonstrate exceptional water-smart designs will be eligible for other special awards presented by the Nevada Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects, the Southern Nevada Landscape Association and master gardener Linn Mills.

For the first time, all Landscape Awards finalists will receive prizes donated by Water Conservation Coalition members.

Eligible project must be located within SNWA's service area of Boulder City, Henderson, Las Vegas, North Las Vegas, Laughlin and unincorporated Clark County. Applications will not be accepted after May 12. Winners will be announced at a special breakfast ceremony in June.